What is the 6 Month Club?

 In Immigration News, Szew Law Group Blog

Are you part of the “6 Month Club”? Do you even know what the Club is? Do you want to be part of this Club?


When you travel to the United States you are required to have a passport valid for 6 months past your intended departure from the United States. For example, if you are traveling to the US, and you intend on staying until March 1, your passport must be valid until September 1.

Now, you are probably thinking, when I came to the US I didn’t have a passport that expired 6 months after my intended date of departure. Well, this means you are lucky enough to be a member of the 6 Month Club! The countries who are members of the 6 Month Club are exempt from this six-month requirement.


Andorra, Angola, Antigua, Barbuda, Antilles, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, The Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bermuda, Bolivia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burma, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cote d’Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Hong Kong (Certificates of Identity and Passports), Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kosovo, Latvia, Lebanon, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Macedonia, Madagascar, Maldives, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Mozambique, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua (for all passports), Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, St. Kitts, Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, The Grenadines, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Trinidad, Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vatican (Holy See), Venezuela, and Zimbabwe.

Click HERE to see the link to the most updated list of countries that are members of the 6 Month Club.

Showing 2 comments
  • Rich

    Does this apply to the ESTA program, regular tourist visas, or both

    • Reply

      Visitors traveling to the U.S. are required to be in possession of passports that are valid for six months beyond
      the period of their intended stay in the U.S. The countries that are exempt from this are part of the 6 month club. It applies to all entries into the US.

Leave a Comment